Clitheroe Advertiser – 25-05-17

Talented local photographers have been celebrating success after coming tops in a regional competition. A number of budding photographers, who are all members of Ribblesdale & District Camera club, have earned successes in the Lancashire and Cheshire Photographic Unions annual individual competitions. They were up against some of the very best photographers not only in the county, but also in the UK to achieve their respective merits. Clitheroe teenager, Laura Nutter, claimed a very impressive first place as the Young Photographer of the Year with a series of black and white images. The judges were so impressed that they have chosen Laura's images to go for selection to represent Great Britain in the upcoming FIAP Biennial world competition in the Young Photographer of the Year category. Laura has been with the club now for a couple of years and regularly enters competitions and supports the club.

Beneath the Streetlamp - Laura Nutter

Adorned - Steve Proctor

Abraham from Lincoln - Gary Williamson

Remembrance - Laura Nutter

The Boatman and the Navvy - Steve Proctor

Calm Before the Call - Gary Williamson

Chairman of the camera club, Steve Proctor was placed fifth in the Photographer of the Year competition among some highly-respected  competitors from the northern counties many of whom represent the UK in prestigious exhibitions and competitions. This entry required a set of 12 digital images and 12 prints. Gary Williamson also represented the club favourably by finishing in eighth place in the colour print category. These placings were keenly competed by over 250 photographers who entered their very best images from their year's work. Ribblesdale and District Camera club held its presentation night at the Calf's Head in Worston, where the best images of the season were rewarded with a range of trophies in recognition of the photographer's skill. The awards were shared out between eight members with Steve Proctor winning the Photographer of the Year title for the third successive year, Jason Merrin winning the digital section and Clare Drew the print section.